Facebook Tutorials

How to delete your Facebook account or deactivate it?

Facebook is used by people all around the world to stay in touch with friends and family as well as start meaningless arguments with complete strangers over mediocre kitten videos. However, although some people view social media as a necessary component of life, others are alarmed by data breaches and privacy concerns. The steps for canceling or deactivating your account are listed here for people who want to take a vacation from Facebook either temporarily or permanently.

delete Facebook account permanently

delete Facebook account permanently
delete your Facebook account permanently

How to Delete your Facebook account using a browser

Facebook removal is simpler than you would imagine. Click this link to access the page where you can permanently terminate your account. Your account is permanently deleted after you click Delete Account and enter your password. But before you do, you might want to download a copy of your saved data on Facebook, such as images, videos, and more. Here is a helpful official guide from Facebook.

How to delete your Fb account using the iPhone app

  1. The iPhone’s Facebook app should be launched.
  2. Pick up the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Then select Privacy & Settings.
  4. Select Settings.
  5. Then choose Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Then select Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Click Delete Account.
  8. To be safe, remove the Facebook app.

How to delete your Fb account from the Android app

  1. On your Android device, launch the Facebook app.
  2. Pick up the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Then select Privacy & Settings.
  4. Select Settings.
  5. Then choose Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Then select Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Click Delete Account.
  8. To be safe, remove the Facebook app.

the consequences of deleting your Facebook profile

Undoubtedly, deleting your Facebook account might feel liberating. Managing your privacy or consuming what seems like an unending amount of social media content are not issues for you. But some users decide to take a break from Facebook by deactivating their account rather than having it permanently deleted for the following reasons:

  • If you don’t make a new account, you won’t be able to access Facebook once more.
  • Without a Facebook account, Messenger cannot be used.
  • There’s a chance that some of the accounts you logged into using Facebook won’t work.
  • It could be necessary to get in touch with those apps and websites or open fresh accounts.
  • If you don’t download a copy, your data will be lost forever.
  • Your Facebook login-related Oculus app purchases, achievements, and more will be lost.

If you change your mind, can you recover Facebook?

According to Facebook, it may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion request for all of your posts to be completely deleted. As part of its data policy, it might even preserve some data in backup storage for legal reasons. In addition, it provides a 30-day grace period following account erasure. Here’s how to stop the deletion of your account within 30 days:

  • Go to Facebook and sign in.
  • Select Cancel Deletion.

Deactivating your Facebook account

Facebook deactivation is a stopgap measure. Your Facebook page, including your bio, images, friends, and posts, are hidden once you delete your account. You cannot accept friend requests from anyone either. The recipients of your messages can still see them, though. The following are some benefits of deactivating your Facebook account as opposed to deleting it:

  • Your posts, videos, and other content are hidden but not removed permanently.
  • All features of Facebook Messenger are still available.
  • Accounts are still accessible using Facebook Login.
  • By checking in, you can always reactivate Facebook as you want.

How to deactivate your Facebook account using a browser

You can deactivate your account using the same link that enables you to delete it. Click Deactivate Account, then enter your password to temporarily lose access to Facebook. As an alternative, you can utilize these steps:

  1. In the top right drop-down box, choose Settings & Privacy.
  2. Choose Settings.
  3. Then choose Your Facebook Information.
  4. Press the “Deactivation and Deletion” button.
  5. Click Continue to Account Deactivation after selecting Deactivate Account.
  6. Deactivate your account by entering your password.

How to deactivate your Fb account using the iPhone app

  1. The iPhone’s Facebook app should be launched.
  2. Pick up the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Then select Privacy & Settings.
  4. Select Settings.
  5. Then choose Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Then select Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Tap Account Deactivate.

How to deactivate your Fb account from the Android app

  1. On your Android device, launch the Facebook app.
  2. Pick up the three-lined icon (hamburger menu).
  3. Then select Privacy & Settings.
  4. Select Settings.
  5. Then choose Account Ownership and Control.
  6. Then select Deactivation and Deletion.
  7. Tap Account Deactivate.

Guidelines for safe Facebook usage

We recognize that some users may have safety concerns even if they don’t wish to remove or deactivate their Facebook accounts. You can take action to better control your security and privacy settings on Facebook. The following advice could be helpful:

  • Make sure your Facebook password is lengthy and distinctive. To make the task simpler, use a secure password manager.
  • Don’t post too much information on Facebook. It can be used for social engineering by threat actors.
  • When accepting friend invitations, use caution. Only post to your trusted friends, not the whole public.
  • By selecting General > Privacy > Your Activity > Limit Past Posts, you can restrict who can see older posts on your Timeline.
  • Click General > Ads > Ad Settings to prevent Facebook from using your data to offer you personalized advertisements.
  • By selecting General > Apps and Websites, you may control which third-party apps have access to your data.
  • Watch out for social media scam attacks and be cautious when clicking links on Facebook or on Messenger.

This was an explanation of How to delete your Facebook account or deactivate it? with details, you can see Facebook Tutorials for more.

Do not forget to tell us in the comments whether our explanation helped you or not, and share it with your friends to spread the benefit.



Mohamed Radwan

(Blogger and Content Creator). An 18-year-old Egyptian young man, blogger, and YouTuber, and I have more than 3 years of experience in the field of blogging and SEO.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button